//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

What to bring to Prague

So Prague Quadrennial 2007 is almost upon us, and now we are all organized and ready to go. Like hell we are! I don’t even have a place to stay yet, or packed my bags (I leave day after tomorrow), or bought all the things I need to buy for it. So I thought I’d take this opportunity, not to do something productive like book accomodation, but to do something innocuous like make a list of things we all could bring:

1. Food and/or alcohol from your home country, so that everyone else may have a taste.
2. Deodorant. Apparently the Industrial Palace is an incredibly hot venue with no air conditioning. You will sweat, and you will smell.
3. Spare clothes (see point 2).
4. Extra money. If you are an un-seasoned traveller you will look like a tourist, no matter how hard you try, and you will be ripped off. If you are a seasoned traveller you already know that you cannot avoid looking like a tourist, so at least you won’t mind when you are ripped off.
5. Finally, don’t forget your passport, dumbass!

As soon as I wrote number 5 I realized that I haven’t seen my passport since February. I’m going to look for it now. Bear with me…

It’s okay, I found it, and it’s mine. I have to check these days, since I accidentally took my sister’s passport to Cork with me a few years ago. Luckily no-one checked it, because I don’t think anyone would believe that I was my sister, not even the Irish police, and they believe anything!

So I’m off to the off-licence to buy a big bottle of Irish whiskey. I will probably end up staying with Rodrigo Cortes, the Mexican designer from, well, Mexico, who is bringing a bottle of tequila. I’m not sure that this is a good idea. The last time I drank tequila was on my 21st birthday, eight years ago. I clearly remember drinking two shots, deciding to be sensible and going to bed. Many, many eyewitnesses later convinced me that these are false memories, and that I drank considerably more than two shots, and did considerably more than go to bed. Dancing was involved, but luckily no-one was injured.

Discussion

One thought on “What to bring to Prague

  1. shit i forgot my deoderant… i hope you guys don’t mind… will look for some “Sure” in Prague tmrw

    Posted by Martin Paling | June 9, 2007, 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Archived

This website is now in an archived state
