//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Musings of a jobbing designer: beginnings

The big 65 has come and gone and I’m still here. Time to take stock, to look back as well as forward. I have definitely designed more designs in the past than I ever will in the future. A rough estimate would be about 150 productions in the past and one definite one in the future. I’ve been very fortunate.

I left college in 1966 and apart from the occaisional ‘resting’ periods between jobs, I have designed all my working life, and I still get a buzz from it. So thats OK.

In this blog (nasty word) I will, when I feel like it, ruminate about the different theatres I have worked for and Television work as well. and try and give a picture of how it has evolved from a personal perspective.

I have not had any professional contact with educational establishments since leaving Wimbledon School of Art but I do know the methods have changed enormously. For a flavour of the times I have written an extented piece that appears on my website at http://www.martinmorley.cymru1.net/page4.html about my time there.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Musings of a jobbing designer: beginnings

  1. Hi Martin,

    This post was a pleasure to read! I certainly look forward to more! I’d be especially interested to hear how much the role of a designer has changed, and if over those 65 years there have been periods where that change was more distinct, perhaps there were times when things changed rapidly?

    “Blog” if you want we can look at changing that for you. Though it requires us creating a “theme” especially for you… have a think about it and let us know and i’ll see what we can do. Perhaps “Journal” is a better word?

    Best Wishes,

    Martin

    Posted by martin | May 14, 2009, 10:03 pm
    • Hi Martin,
      I did not expect such a quick reply. I was only doodling. Anyway, thanks very much for the comments: most encouraging. Don’t go to any trouble to set anything special up. At least not while I am getting my head round the essentials. Will you be at the SBTD meeting on Tuesday?
      Best wishes,
      Martin

      Posted by martinmorley | May 15, 2009, 10:04 am
  2. Hi Martin and Martin

    This is my first visit to the website for some time. Contradictory events did not allow a visit. Still, my first impressions are VERY favourable and Thank You Martin for all your efforts. As for this blog, I almost fell off my chair! The beginnings of your career Martin ties up, to large extend with mine, including the date! 1966 was the year I finished my studies/training, albeit a few thousand Ks down the road from you, in Athens… and our ages match, too!
    Please carry on with blogging. I might even follow your example.

    Best Wishes to both of you

    Tolis

    Posted by Tolis | May 22, 2009, 8:01 pm
  3. Martin that update was a pleasure to read… it’s so hard to imagine how things changed so much over time. Especially so as despite what people may think Theatre is still alive and kicking and relatively well attended.

    I was privileged to grow up in a town that had a theatre that still produced it’s own props, sets and costumes – hard to think that its been a rareity for some time.

    Tolis: Now wouldn’t it be great if we could read about your journey too? It would be fascinating to compare two careers from two different countries!

    Posted by martin | May 23, 2009, 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Archived

This website is now in an archived state
